Warenkorb
€ 0,00 0 Buch dabei,
portofrei
Into the Minds of Madmen: How the FBI's Behavioral Science Unit Revolutionized Crime Investigation als Buch
PORTO-
FREI

Into the Minds of Madmen: How the FBI's Behavioral Science Unit Revolutionized Crime Investigation

New. Sprache: Englisch.
Buch (gebunden)
When law enforcement struggles to solve a serial murder, arson, rape, or child abduction, and is making little headway, it turns to the FBI's legendary Behavioral Science Unit (BSU) at the FBI Academy in Quantico, Virginia. Over the past three decade … weiterlesen
Buch

26,99*

inkl. MwSt.
Portofrei
vorbestellbar
Into the Minds of Madmen: How the FBI's Behavioral Science Unit Revolutionized Crime Investigation als Buch

Produktdetails

Titel: Into the Minds of Madmen: How the FBI's Behavioral Science Unit Revolutionized Crime Investigation
Autor/en: Don DeNevi, John H. Campbell

ISBN: 1591021359
EAN: 9781591021353
New.
Sprache: Englisch.
PROMETHEUS BKS

November 2003 - gebunden - 385 Seiten

Beschreibung

When law enforcement struggles to solve a serial murder, arson, rape, or child abduction, and is making little headway, it turns to the FBI's legendary Behavioral Science Unit (BSU) at the FBI Academy in Quantico, Virginia. Over the past three decades, more than thirty members of this elite team have worked to capture countless elusive criminals. Rarely have they been appreciated. Never has their story been told.
Now, at the suggestion of Stephen Band, the current Chief of the BSU, the inside story has been written by John Campbell, former BSU Chief (1989-1992) and Don DeNevi, author of many highly acclaimed true-crime books. In a fascinating account, full of quiet heroics and grisly criminal details, the authors describe the difficult work of the tireless professionals who have devoted their careers to investigating and analyzing the deeds and personalities of the macabre psychopaths who haunt our streets.
In contrast to well-known fictional depictions, like The Silence of the Lambs and The X-Files, DeNevi and Campbell's real-life perspective shows that the true story is more engrossing, indeed astonishing, than any movie or novel. The authors reveal how this crack unit developed a new technique, from a combination of psychological profiling and old-fashioned detective work, which succeeded in cracking a host of difficult cases, including serial murders, hostage taking, and terrorism. Readers experience what it is like to crawl into the twisted minds of notorious criminals, as psychological profilers must do to learn their motivations, patterns, and probable next move.
This unique oral history will provide fascinating reading for fans of C.S.I., Profiler, and other similar dramas, and is also a long overdue and fitting tribute to the heroic men and women of the Behavioral Science Unit, who fight everyday to keep Americans safe.

Portrait

Don DeNevi (Menlo Park, CA) is the author, or coauthor, of thirty-two books, including Mob Nemesis—How the FBI Crippled Organized Crime (with FBI Special Agent in Charge Joe Griffin) and Riddle of the Rock: The Only Successful Escape from Alcatraz. Having previously taught in the criminal justice department at San Francisco State University, he now teaches and counsels the condemned on San Quentin's death row.
John H. Campbell, Ph.D. (St. Cloud, MN), is a professor in the criminal justice department at St. Cloud State University and the former Unit Chief of the FBI's Behavioral Science Unit.

Pressestimmen

"So there we were hunkered down in our offices far below the Firearms Unit struggling to outsmart the bastards. And, boy, did we need each other. We had this image of armor, that the work of poring over photographs of absolutely anguishing, terrifying killings didn't bother us. Most of the time we couldn't even eat our lunches or sleep at night . . . . Fortunately, our work was a kind of glue which held us together. The horrible work bonded us in a way no other work could"
Servicehotline
089 - 70 80 99 47

Mo. - Fr. 8.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Sa. 10.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Filialhotline
089 - 30 75 75 75

Mo. - Sa. 9.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Bleiben Sie in Kontakt:
Sicher & bequem bezahlen:
akzeptierte Zahlungsarten: Überweisung, offene Rechnung,
Visa, Master Card, American Express, Paypal
Zustellung durch:
* Alle Preise verstehen sich inkl. der gesetzlichen MwSt. Informationen über den Versand und anfallende Versandkosten finden Sie hier.
** Deutschsprachige eBooks und Bücher dürfen aufgrund der in Deutschland geltenden Buchpreisbindung und/oder Vorgaben von Verlagen nicht rabattiert werden. Soweit von uns deutschsprachige eBooks und Bücher günstiger angezeigt werden, wurde bei diesen kürzlich von den Verlagen der Preis gesenkt oder die Buchpreisbindung wurde für diese Titel inzwischen aufgehoben. Angaben zu Preisnachlässen beziehen sich auf den dargestellten Vergleichspreis.