Hugendubel.de - Das Lesen ist schön

Warenkorb

€ 0,00 0 Buch dabei,
portofrei
The Turmoil als Taschenbuch
PORTO-
FREI

The Turmoil

Illustrations. Sprache: Englisch.
Taschenbuch
A familiar midwestern novel in the tradition of Sherwood Anderson and Sinclair Lewis, The Turmoil was the best-selling novel of 1915. It is set in a small, quiet city--never named but closely resembling the author's hometown of Indianapolis--that is ... weiterlesen
Dieses Taschenbuch ist auch verfügbar als:
Taschenbuch

21,49*

inkl. MwSt.
Portofrei
Lieferbar innerhalb von zwei Wochen
The Turmoil als Taschenbuch
Produktdetails
Titel: The Turmoil
Autor/en: Booth Tarkington

ISBN: 0252071131
EAN: 9780252071133
Illustrations.
Sprache: Englisch.
University of Illinois Press

16. Dezember 2002 - kartoniert - 376 Seiten

Beschreibung

A familiar midwestern novel in the tradition of Sherwood Anderson and Sinclair Lewis, The Turmoil was the best-selling novel of 1915. It is set in a small, quiet city--never named but closely resembling the author's hometown of Indianapolis--that is quickly being transformed into a bustling, money-making nest of competitors more or less overrun by "the worshippers of Bigness." "There is a midland city in the heart of fair, open country, a dirty and wonderful city nesting dingily in the fog of its own smoke, " begins The Turmoil, the first volume of Pulitzer Prize-winner Booth Tarkington's "Growth" trilogy. A narrative of loss and change, a love story, and a warning about the potential evils of materialism, the book chronicles two midwestern families trying to cope with the onset of industrialization. Tarkington believed that culture could flourish even as the country was increasingly fueled by material progress. The Turmoil, the first great success of his career, tells the intertwined stories of two families: the Sheridans, whose integrity wanes as their wealth increases, and the Vertrees, who remain noble but impoverished. Linked by the romance between a Sheridan son and a Vertrees daughter, the story of the two families provides a dramatic view of what America was like on the verge of a new order. An introduction by Lawrence R. Rodgers places the novel squarely in the social and cultural context of the Progressive Era. The book also features illustrations by C. E. Chambers.
Servicehotline
089 - 70 80 99 47

Mo. - Fr. 8.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Sa. 10.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Filialhotline
089 - 30 75 75 75

Mo. - Sa. 9.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Bleiben Sie in Kontakt:
Sicher & bequem bezahlen:
akzeptierte Zahlungsarten: Überweisung, offene Rechnung,
Visa, Master Card, American Express, Paypal
Zustellung durch:
* Alle Preise verstehen sich inkl. der gesetzlichen MwSt. Informationen über den Versand und anfallende Versandkosten finden Sie hier.
** im Vergleich zum dargestellten Vergleichspreis.