Warenkorb
€ 0,00 0 Buch dabei,
portofrei
The End of the Ocean als Taschenbuch
PORTO-
FREI

The End of the Ocean

Sprache: Englisch.
Taschenbuch
Ihr 13%-Rabatt auf alle Spielwaren, Hörbücher, Filme, Musik u.v.m
 
13% Rabatt sichern mit Gutscheincode: URLAUB13
 
In the spirit of Station Eleven and Never Let Me Go , this is a dazzling and ambitious literary novel from the author of The History of Bees .
Dieses Taschenbuch ist auch verfügbar als:
Taschenbuch

16,49 *

inkl. MwSt.
Portofrei
vorbestellbar
The End of the Ocean als Taschenbuch

Produktdetails

Titel: The End of the Ocean
Autor/en: Maja Lunde

ISBN: 1471175529
EAN: 9781471175527
Sprache: Englisch.
Simon + Schuster UK

1. November 2019 - kartoniert - 400 Seiten

Beschreibung

From the author of the #1 international bestseller The History of Bees , a captivating new novel about the threat of a worldwide water shortage as seen through the eyes of a father and daughter.

In 2019, seventy-year-old Signe sets out on a hazardous voyage to cross an entire ocean in only a sailboat. She is haunted by the loss of the love of her life, and is driven by a singular and all-consuming mission to make it back to him.

In 2041, David flees with his young daughter, Lou, from a war-torn Southern Europe plagued by drought. They have been separated from their rest of their family and are on a desperate search to reunite with them once again, when they find Signe's abandoned sailboat in a parched French garden, miles away from the nearest shore.

As David and Lou discover personal effects from Signe's travels, their journey of survival and hope weaves together with Signe's, forming a heartbreaking, inspiring story about the power of nature and the human spirit in this second novel from the author of the "spectacular and deeply moving" ( New York Times bestselling author Lisa See) The History of Bees .

Praise for The History of Bees:

'Fans of Cloud Atlas and Never Let Me Go will love The History of Bees' Good Housekeeping

'Dystopian and electric, this book is set to blow minds everywhere' Stylist

'Haunting and poignant ... an important and wonderful book' Dave Goulson, bestselling author of Bee Quest

' Spectacular and deeply moving. Lunde has elegantly woven together a tale of science and science fiction, dystopia and hope, and the trials of the individual and the strengths of family' Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author

'Such is the genius of debut novelist Maja Lunde that her tale of three eras-the long past, the tenuous present and the biologically damned future-is strung on the fragile hope of the survival of bees' Jacquelyn Mitchard, New York Times bestselling author

'As a lover of honeybees and a fan of speculative fiction, I was doubly smitten by The History of Bees . Maja Lunde's novel is an urgent reminder of how much our survival depends on those remarkable insects. It is also a gripping account of how-despite the cruelest losses-humanity may abide and individual families can heal' Jean Hegland, author of Into the Forest

'By turns devastating and hopeful, The History of Bees resonates powerfully with our most pressing environmental concerns. Following three separate but interconnected timelines, Lunde shows us the past, the present, and a terrifying future in a riveting story as complex as a honeycomb' Bryn Greenwood, New York Times bestselling author

'Here is a story that is sweeping in scope but intimate in detail' Laura McBride, author of We Are Called to Rise
Servicehotline
089 - 70 80 99 47

Mo. - Fr. 8.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Sa. 10.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Filialhotline
089 - 30 75 75 75

Mo. - Sa. 9.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Bleiben Sie in Kontakt:
Sicher & bequem bezahlen:
akzeptierte Zahlungsarten: Überweisung, offene Rechnung,
Visa, Master Card, American Express, Paypal
Zustellung durch:
¹ Mängelexemplare sind Bücher mit leichten Beschädigungen, die das Lesen aber nicht einschränken. Mängelexemplare sind durch einen Stempel als solche ge-
kennzeichnet. Die frühere Buchpreisbindung ist aufgehoben.
* Alle Preise verstehen sich inkl. der gesetzlichen MwSt. Informationen über den Versand und anfallende Versandkosten finden Sie hier.
** Deutschsprachige eBooks und Bücher dürfen aufgrund der in Deutschland geltenden Buchpreisbindung und/oder Vorgaben von Verlagen nicht rabattiert werden. Soweit von uns deutschsprachige eBooks und Bücher günstiger angezeigt werden, wurde bei diesen kürzlich von den Verlagen der Preis gesenkt oder die Buchpreisbindung wurde für diese Titel inzwischen aufgehoben. Angaben zu Preisnachlässen beziehen sich auf den dargestellten Vergleichspreis.