The Doctor and the Diva als Buch (kartoniert)
PORTO-
FREI

The Doctor and the Diva

Empfohlen ab 18 Jahre. Sprache: Englisch.
Buch (kartoniert)
It is 1903. Dr. Ravell is a young Harvard-educated obstetrician with a growing reputation for helping couples conceive. He has treated women from all walks of Boston society, but when Ravell meets Erika - an opera singer whose beauty is surpassed onl … weiterlesen
Dieser Artikel ist auch verfügbar als:
Buch (kartoniert)

18,49 *

inkl. MwSt.
Portofrei
Versand in 3-4 Wochen
Zustellung: Mi, 23.02. - Di, 01.03.
  • Bewerten
  • Empfehlen
The Doctor and the Diva als Buch (kartoniert)

Produktdetails

Titel: The Doctor and the Diva
Autor/en: Adrienne McDonnell

ISBN: 0143119303
EAN: 9780143119302
Empfohlen ab 18 Jahre.
Sprache: Englisch.
PENGUIN GROUP

31. Oktober 2011 - kartoniert - 422 Seiten

Beschreibung

Inspired by a true story—a breathtaking novel of romantic obsession, longing, and one woman's choice between motherhood and her operatic career calling

It is 1903, and Erika von Kessler has struggled for years to become pregnant. Resigned to childlessness, Erika—a talented opera singer and the wife of a prominent Boston businessman—secretly plans to move to Italy to pursue her musical career. The charismatic Doctor Ravell is a rising fertility specialist. When Erika becomes his patient, he is mesmerized by her elegance and extraordinary voice—and finds himself taking an impetuous risk that could ruin them both.

Stunningly realized and inspired by Adrienne McDonnell's own family history, The Doctor and the Diva moves from snowy Boston to the tropical forests of the Caribbean to the gilded balconies of Florence. It is searing historical fiction—a tale of opera, the indomitable power of romantic obsession, and a woman's irreconcilable desires as she is forced to choose between the child she has always yearned for and the artistic career she cannot live without. Fans of Ann Patchett's Bel Canto and Nancy Horan's Loving Frank will be moved by this novel's bittersweet beauty.

Portrait

Adrienne McDonnell has taught literature and fiction writing at the University of California, Berkeley. The Doctor and the Diva is based in part on the true story of her son's great-great grandmother. McDonnell was inspired by hundreds of pages of family letters and memories of elderly relatives, long haunted by the story. Chosen by the American Booksellers Association as an Indie Next Notable Book, rights to the The Doctor and the Diva have sold in ten countries. McDonnell lives near San Francisco. The Doctor and the Diva is her first novel.

Pressestimmen

Some novels just naturally enslave you, and this is one of them. . . . Serious and gripping . . . [a] brilliant debut novel.
The Washington Post

Desire has a dangerous side, a fact this sumptuous novel delights in . . . [An] explosive tale. Read the book now, then place bets on when the movie version will come out.
Redbook

The tugs of work and family propel this engrossing tale.
Good Housekeeping (Book Pick)

This amazing debut novel . . . is, quite simply, one of the best novels I ve read all year.
The Historical Novels Review (Editor s Choice)

The Doctor and the Diva is so beautifully written and lushly set it was impossible for me to put down, and the characters continue to haunt me long after I turned the last page.
Sara Gruen, bestselling author of Water for Elephants and Ape House

An incredibly moving tale of passion, regret, and ultimate triumph. I loved it. Adrienne McDonnell has created some of the most memorable characters I ve ever met. A superb achievement.
Julie Garwood, bestselling author of Hotshot
Servicehotline
089 - 70 80 99 47

Mo. - Fr. 8.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Sa. 10.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Filialhotline
089 - 30 75 75 75

Mo. - Sa. 9.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Sicher & bequem bezahlen:
Bleiben Sie in Kontakt:
Hugendubel App
Zustellung durch:
1 Mängelexemplare sind Bücher mit leichten Beschädigungen, die das Lesen aber nicht einschränken. Mängelexemplare sind durch einen Stempel als solche gekennzeichnet. Die frühere Buchpreisbindung ist aufgehoben. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den gebundenen Preis eines mangelfreien Exemplars.

2 Diese Artikel unterliegen nicht der Preisbindung, die Preisbindung dieser Artikel wurde aufgehoben oder der Preis wurde vom Verlag gesenkt. Die jeweils zutreffende Alternative wird Ihnen auf der Artikelseite dargestellt. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen Preis.

3 Durch Öffnen der Leseprobe willigen Sie ein, dass Daten an den Anbieter der Leseprobe übermittelt werden.

4 Der gebundene Preis dieses Artikels wird nach Ablauf des auf der Artikelseite dargestellten Datums vom Verlag angehoben.

5 Der Preisvergleich bezieht sich auf die unverbindliche Preisempfehlung (UVP) des Herstellers.

6 Der gebundene Preis dieses Artikels wurde vom Verlag gesenkt. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen Preis.

7 Die Preisbindung dieses Artikels wurde aufgehoben. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen Preis.

11 Ihr Gutschein KALENDER2022 gilt bis einschließlich 31.01.2022. Sie können den Gutschein ausschließlich online einlösen unter www.hugendubel.de. Keine Bestellung zur Abholung mit Zahlung in der Filiale möglich. Der Gutschein ist nur gültig für Kalender, die nicht der gesetzlichen Preisbindung unterliegen. Der Gutschein ist nicht mit anderen Gutscheinen und Geschenkkarten kombinierbar. Eine Barauszahlung ist nicht möglich. Ein Weiterverkauf und der Handel des Gutscheincodes sind nicht gestattet.

12 Bestellungen ins Ausland und der DHL-Paketversand sind von der portofreien Lieferung ausgeschlossen. Gültig bis 30.06.2022.

* Alle Preise verstehen sich inkl. der gesetzlichen MwSt. Informationen über den Versand und anfallende Versandkosten finden Sie hier.

*** Gilt für Versandbestellungen nach Hause.