Case Against Christianity PB als Taschenbuch
PORTO-
FREI

Case Against Christianity PB

Sprache: Englisch.
Taschenbuch
Presenting a systematic philosophical critique of the tenets of Christianity, this book examines the semantic and epistemological bases of religious claims and beliefs. Beginning with a comparison and evaluation of the Apostles' Creed, it discusses t … weiterlesen
Taschenbuch

42,49 *

inkl. MwSt.
Portofrei
vorbestellbar
  • Bewerten
  • Empfehlen
Case Against Christianity PB als Taschenbuch

Produktdetails

Titel: Case Against Christianity PB
Autor/en: Michael Martin

ISBN: 1566390818
EAN: 9781566390811
Sprache: Englisch.
TEMPLE UNIV PR

1. März 1993 - kartoniert - 256 Seiten

Beschreibung

Presenting a systematic philosophical critique of the tenets of Christianity, this book examines the semantic and epistemological bases of religious claims and beliefs. Beginning with a comparison and evaluation of the Apostles' Creed, it discusses the principal theological, historical, and eschatological assumptions of Christianity.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Preface Introduction 1. The Basis of Christian Belief Christian Belief and Epistemic Reasons * Christian Belief and Beneficial Reasons * Christian Doctrines and Faith * Christian Doctrines as Basic Beliefs * Conclusion 2. The Historicity of Jesus The Problem * Skepticism and the Historical Jesus * Wells's Argument in Brief * The Argument Expanded and Defended * Criticisms of the Wellsian Thesis * Conclusion 3. The Resurrection Initial Obstacles to Belief in the Resurrection * The Evidence for the Resurrection * The Purposes of the Gospel Writers * The Inconsistency of the Resurrection Story * The Lack of Eyewitnesses * The Reliability of the Eyewitnesses, the Reporters, and the Scribes * Lack of Independent Confirmation * Habermas's Defense of the Resurrection * Conclusion 4. The Virgin Birth and the Second Coming The Virgin Birth * The Story * The Evidence * The Coherence of the Virgin Birth with Jesus' Genealogy * Belief in the Virgin Birth and Improbabilities * The Relevance of Virgin Birth to the Truth of Theism and the Incarnation * The Second Coming * The Evidence: What Did Jesus Teach? * The Evidence: Was Jesus Correct and What Difference Would it Make? * The Second Coming and Faith * Conclusion 5. The Incarnation The Conceptual Problems of the Incarnation * Four Conceptual Problems * Morris's Solution * Evaluation of Morris's Solution * Conclusion on Conceptual Problems * The Truth of the Incarnation * Morris's Defense * The Evidence Needed * Conclusion on the Truth of the Incarnation 6. Christian Ethics What Ethical Principle Did Jesus Teach? * The Ethical Teaching of the Synoptic Gospels * The Moral Practices of Jesus * What Jesus' Practices and Teachings Neglect * Evaluation of Jesus' Ethics * The Love of God and Faith in Jesus Commandments * The Purity of Heart and Language Commandment * The Commandment of Humility * The Love Your Neighbor Commandment * Conclusion 7. Salvation by Faith Biblical Doctrines of Salvation * Evaluation of the Doctrine * The Dependency on Other Christian Doctrines * The Incompatibility with Belief in an All-Good God * Conclusion 8. Christian Responses Nonliteralism * The Symbolic Meaning and the Virgin Birth * Demythologizing and Eschatology * Noncognitivism and Agape * Other Possible Responses * Rationalism * Historical Subjectivism * Extreme Fideism or Irrationalism * Moderate Fideism * Christian Foundationalism * Liberal Reductionism * Conclusion Appendix A: The Divine Command Theory Varieties of the Radical Divine Command Theory * Evaluation of the Radical Divine Command Theory * The Semantics Problem * Moral Problems * The Epistemological Problem * The Conceptual Problem * A Modified Divine Command Theory * Conclusion Appendix B: The Atonement Major Theories of the Atonement * The Ransom Theory * The Satisfaction Theory * The Acceptance Theory * The Penal Theory * The Government Theory * The Moral Theory * The Christus Victor Theory * The Mystic Theory * Conclusion Biblical Index General Index

Portrait

Michael Martin, Professor of Philosophy at Boston University, is the author of "The Legal Philosophy of H.L.A. Hart" and "Atheism: A Philosophical Justification" (both from Temple).

Pressestimmen

"Martin has said something fresh and fruitful that theologians and philosophers of religion simply cannot afford to ignore...Every serious student of Christian doctrine would do well to spend time on Martin's insightful chapters." --Free Inquiry "A thorough, logical examination of the major tenants of Christianity by a professional philosopher (not a theologian)... [This] is the best book for the intelligent reader that examines the case for and against Christianity... The book is must reading for all who discuss (or defend) Christianity from a critical point of view." --American Rationalist "An insightful and provocative rational analysis of the major doctrinal claims of Christianity... While a creative critique in its own right, this work is in the tradition of Friedrich Nietzsche, Bertrand Russell, Paul Kurtz, and Edmund Cohen among others..." --Choice "This book is a joy to read. It brings together not only Martin's thoughts about Christianity, but important views, pro and con, from important writers in the field from Russell to Aquinas, Kaufmann to Augustine, Robertson to Kierkegaard, etc... Martin 's presentation of points of view on a topic, in every case, are to the point, detailed, and insightful." --Peter A. Angeles, Santa Barbara City College "Martin is one of the very few first-rate philosophers who have had the fortitude and patience to carefully read much of the truly staggering amount of non-philosophical literature on Christian topics." --Peter H. Hare, SUNY Buffalo
Servicehotline
089 - 70 80 99 47

Mo. - Fr. 8.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Sa. 10.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Filialhotline
089 - 30 75 75 75

Mo. - Sa. 9.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Sicher & bequem bezahlen:
Bleiben Sie in Kontakt:
Hugendubel App
Zustellung durch:
1 Mängelexemplare sind Bücher mit leichten Beschädigungen, die das Lesen aber nicht einschränken. Mängelexemplare sind durch einen Stempel als solche gekennzeichnet. Die frühere Buchpreisbindung ist aufgehoben. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den gebundenen Preis eines mangelfreien Exemplars.

2 Diese Artikel unterliegen nicht der Preisbindung, die Preisbindung dieser Artikel wurde aufgehoben oder der Preis wurde vom Verlag gesenkt. Die jeweils zutreffende Alternative wird Ihnen auf der Artikelseite dargestellt. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen Preis.

3 Durch Öffnen der Leseprobe willigen Sie ein, dass Daten an den Anbieter der Leseprobe übermittelt werden.

4 Der gebundene Preis dieses Artikels wird nach Ablauf des auf der Artikelseite dargestellten Datums vom Verlag angehoben.

5 Der Preisvergleich bezieht sich auf die unverbindliche Preisempfehlung (UVP) des Herstellers.

6 Der gebundene Preis dieses Artikels wurde vom Verlag gesenkt. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen Preis.

7 Die Preisbindung dieses Artikels wurde aufgehoben. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen Preis.

11 Ihr Gutschein SCHULE15 gilt bis einschließlich 31.07.2021. Sie können den Gutschein ausschließlich online einlösen unter www.hugendubel.de. Keine Bestellung zur Abholung in der Buchhandlung möglich. Der Gutschein ist nur gültig für Kalender, die nicht der gesetzlichen Preisbindung unterliegen. Der Gutschein ist nicht gültig für Spielwaren-Adventskalender. Der Gutschein ist nicht mit anderen Gutscheinen und Geschenkkarten kombinierbar. Eine Barauszahlung ist nicht möglich. Ein Weiterverkauf und der Handel des Gutscheincodes sind nicht gestattet.

12 Bestellungen ins Ausland und der DHL-Paketversand sind von der portofreien Lieferung ausgeschlossen. Gültig bis 31.10.2021.

* Alle Preise verstehen sich inkl. der gesetzlichen MwSt. Informationen über den Versand und anfallende Versandkosten finden Sie hier.